Day 9: When you don’t feel like moving…

9 Jan

day 9

Pretty much sums it all up for  me today.  After an exhausting day on the slopes, I woke up sore from head to toe. Legs, core, shoulders, back. It was a good type of sore which I like because I know I pushed it, but my body was completely spent today.  After stumbling out of bed, I used the foam roller while I waited for my coffee to brew. I have a love/hate relationship with this thing because it is SO good for deep muscle tension relief but it hurts like heck.  I should have used it last night, but after a 10 minute staring contest with the stupid thing, I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  Since I can’t count the foam roller as a workout, I hit the gym after a busy and productive day at the office for some steady state cardio on the elliptical.  In all honesty, if it weren’t for this 365 challenge, I would not have even stepped foot in the gym, but I knew that some light cardio as active recovery would help increase blood circulation, assist in lactic acid removal, and speed up muscle recovery.  I also had the extra support from C-Jazz who joined me for her second sweat session of the day!  I felt so much better after 20 minutes on the elliptical and my muscles were less stiff and my mind was more alert.   Now, I’m onto another staring contest with the foam roller…..I’m not letting it win again.

Leave a Reply

