Day 16: Short on time, quick on sweat

16 Jan

Today was a busy day. One of those days that would make it extremely easy to leave the gym bag sitting in the corner of my office, unused. However, I knew I had to get in for a quick workout. How can I disappoint all 20 of you who are reading this?! So, early afternoon, I squeezed in a quick gym visit between meetings. True confessions: I jumped on the elliptical for a 20 minute HIIT (high intensity interval workout) and at minute 15 I decided I had had enough. I tried, I pushed through, but I just couldn’t keep my head in it. I was mentally distracted about the hundreds of other things going on in my head and just needed a breather. So with that, I headed to the mats to stretch out my sore muscles. True confessions again: I laid on my back to stretch out, closed my eyes, and quite literally almost fell asleep. It’s days and workouts like this that make me realize the importance of listening to your body and mind. When you push to do everything in life at 100%, you’re bound to get tired, overwhelmed, and just plain burnt out. So I listened and responded. And almost fell asleep at the gym…

One Response to “Day 16: Short on time, quick on sweat”

  1. kristin Croci January 17, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Well, it all makes sense to me! See, when I was your age and joined the new and awesome WOMENS WORLD, it was just so hard after teaching all day to stay awake! So we snoozed , as a group, then enjoyed the Sauna then went home relishing in a great workout! So I get it 🙂

Leave a Reply

