Day 63: You know those days when you don’t want to workout?

7 Mar

And the mere thought of exercising makes you feel 100 times more tired than you actually are? And you think to yourself “what’s the point”? Yes, I have those days too. And today was one of those days. I was so wrapped up in my own head about not working out, that I created a whole mental list of excuses not to go to the gym. It’s snowing, it’s cold, it’s windy, I have to put on my boots, I’m tired, the zipper on my jacket gets stuck sometimes, my gym bag is heavy. Yes, I actually wasted mental energy on this.  In my opinion, NONE of these are legitimate excuses to bail on a workout, so I forced it. And surprise surprise, I felt better afterwards.  I decided to hop on one of the fancy schmancy bikes at the gym where you ride through a selected course.  The handle bars actually move and the % grade of the bike route automatically changes.  It’s so fun to do because it’s like you’re actually out on the road.  Here’s a quick view.

day 63

What is so great (for me anyway) is that you have to pay such close attention to what you’re doing, that you don’t think about anything else.  EXACTLY what I needed.  Even taking your hands off the handle bars for 2 seconds to grab a drink of water lands you off-road in a tree.  But still moving of course.  I selected this 4 mile route that started out with massive rolling hills and led into a basic uphill climb for almost the whole thing.  (I learned that I will actually look at the elevation chart before selecting a route.)   It really forces you to keep your mind in it.  My mind wandered for split second during a transition from a downhill of -10% to an uphill grade of +20% and because I wasn’t paying attention, I didn’t change my gears, and I almost came to a complete stop due to the incline of that hill.  It was the perfect workout to challenge my body and mind and squash all of those lame excuses to skip the gym.  And the big bonus, you get to race all the computerized bikers and pick them off one by one. It’s amazing how competitive one can be with fake people on a screen….

One Response to “Day 63: You know those days when you don’t want to workout?”

  1. Sick in Savin March 7, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Wish I was a real person riding at Marino! Can’t wait to get back into the routine and better yet, OUTDOOR BOOTCAMP!!!!

Leave a Reply

